Lesson 11 – Air, Fire, Water, Earth & Spirit

Lesson 11
Air, Fire, Water & Earth – and Spirit- Introducing the Elements

The five elements make up everything in the world around us.

They are not merely earth, air, fire, water and spirit – but are concepts, energy states, states of being, philosophical concepts. It is important to realize how fundamental the elements are to our existence.

Working with the elements enables us to balance ourselves and remain centred, and promotes growth through realization of imbalances in ourselves (be they qualities, emotions, habits, etc) and the means to change the qualities, through working with them and transmuting them.

The aim of any Witch regardless of tradition would include mastering the four elements and bringing them into balance. This can take a lifetime to achieve, but is a goal worth persuing. The elements make up everything and as such is part of the foundations of practical magick.


AIR : To Know
Direction: East
Tools: Dagger / Athame, Censer, Flute
Time: Dawn
Season: Spring
Colours: Yellow & White
Sense: Smell Concepts: Intellect, Knowledge, Clarity, Discrimination, Mind, Speed, Sound, Intuition
Qualities (+):
Inspiration, Wisdom, Happiness, Hope, Logic, Joy, Analysis, Discernment, Decisiveness
Qualities (-):
Anxiety, Fear, Impulsiveness, Paranoia, Dispersion, Prejudice, Insecurity

FIRE : To Will
Direction: South
Tools: Wand, Rattle, Sistrum
Time: Noon
Season: Summer
Colours: Reds & Oranges
Sense: Sight
Concepts: Energy, Freedom, Success, Drive, Transmutation, Light, Power, Vision
Qualities (+):
Courage, Motivation, Drive, Enthusiasm, Passion, Will, Creativity
Qualities (-):
Fickleness, Vengefulness, Violence, Possessiveness, Fear, Hatred ? Violent, Cruelty. Physical, Anger, Egotism

WATER : To Dare
Direction: West
Tool: Chalice
Time: Dusk
Season: Autumn
Colours: Blues
Sense: Taste
Concepts: Emotions, Dreams, Intuition, Death/Rebirth, Taste, Primal Chaos, Underworld, Unconscious, Blood, Womb
Qualities (+):
Compassion, Sympathy, Empathy, Nurture, Sexuality, Trust, Serenity, Tranquillity, Depth
Qualities (-):
Sadness, Jealousy, Hatred, Insipid, Treachery, Sorrow, Deceit, Spite, Venom

EARTH – To Keep Silent
Direction: North
Tools: Pentacle, Drum
Time: Midnight
Season: Winter
Colours: Greens & Browns Sense: Touch
Concepts: Body, Strength, Stillness, Endurance, Mystery, Power, Healing, Skill, Touch
Qualities (+):
Strength, Steadfastness, Stability, Sensuality, Humility, Selflessness, Patience, Responsibility, Persistence, Realization, Tolerance
Qualities (-):
Laziness, Stubbornness, Greed, Attention? Seeking, Inertia, Domineering, Depression, Melancholy

Direction: Centre (Within/Without)
Tools: Cauldron & Sword
Time: Between the Worlds
Season: The Turning Wheel
Colours: Purple, Black, White
Sense: Hearing
Concepts: Will, Harmony, Evolution, Life Force, Transcendence, Sixth Sense, Transformation Continue to Spirit
Spirit is represented by the top point of the upwards pointing pentagram and is said to be present when the four elements are in balance.

Exercise 11
a) Copy the correspondences into your notebook.
b) Write a short description of how you view each of the 5 elements into your notebook, spending time on each re-reading their correspondences and thinking of how they are present in the world around you.
c) Which is your favourite? Why?

(c) Avalonia 2000
Made available here for free distribution.
The Free Wicca Lessons
www.avalonia.co.uk (2000-2008)


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: